April 21, 2024

3 Critical Things You Should Do Right After Being Accused of DUI in Phoenix

If you have been pulled over by the cops and accused of DUI, your mind might be racing because of fear. Keep in mind that you need to cooperate with the police and proceed with the process calmly. As much as possible, do not let things become more complicated than they already are. You must also contact a competent and reliable person in Phoenix DUI lawyer to ensure your rights are protected.

In Phoenix, Arizona, if you are 21 years old or older, you can be charged for DUI if your blood alcohol content is found to be above 0.8%. If you are arrested for driving under the influence, there might be sobriety testing that will be administered. If you do not take the test, it might result in a one-year suspension of your driver’s license if you get arrested for the first time. When it is your second or third offense of driving under the influence, you may lose your license for up to a couple of years.

Write every detail

In many instances, details are what causes a win or loss in a DUI case. Write every detail of your DUI pull over no matter how insignificant it may seem. It would help if you did this right away. Keep in mind that memories become blurred and fade over time, and you want to jot everything down while it is still fresh on your mind. Because of this, you can state with certainty what occurred. Several details can help you win your court case.

You must try to keep track of these questions:

  • What time were you stopped?
  • What is the location where you were stopped?
  • Write down everything you told the cop about what you had been consuming or drinking at that point.
  • What are the types of tests they required you to do?
  • Describe the test device.

Only share the details with your lawyer, and no one else sees these details cannot be used against you later on.

In your first offense of driving under the influence in Phoenix, Arizona, you can be jailed for not less than ten consecutive days. You might also be fined up to $1200. You might also be obligated to undergo alcohol screening as well as education and treatment. Your vehicle might also be equipped with an ignition interlock device, and you may be mandated to perform community service.

Set your private social media profiles to private

Keep in mind that prosecutors will be researching you on social media. They will be looking for photos that seem incriminating, as well as comments that you made online. Remember that anything you post will be utilized against you. It can be taken out of context if the prosecutor discovers them. These media and comments can cause the ruin of your reputation and might even turn the opinion of the jury against you. No matter your guilt or innocence, do not allow them the chance to get you convicted. It is critical to set your profile as private. Also, do not discuss anything about your arrest online. Keeping silent is the best policy at this point.

When it comes to driving in Phoenix, Arizona, you consent to test for blood and alcohol concentration if you are pulled over for driving by law enforcement. It is critical to cooperate with them if you are arrested under the influence of intoxicating liquor or drugs. This law is the Implied consent law.

Hire the best defense you can find

Choosing the appropriate attorney is the most critical decision you can make when charged with DUI. You must examine the experience and training of your lawyer. DUI cases involve numerous science and scientific procedures. You must consider if your lawyer has training in the sciences. Is he a good trial lawyer or a plea attorney?

In Phoenix, a DUI lawyer can help you if you find yourself in such a situation. Consider several candidates and make your critical decision. Be sure to ask them about their resume and credentials before you decide to hire them.