Someone who is 19 wants to buy my handgun can i sell it to them in ohio without breaking the law?
Well, if you believe as I do that The U.S. Constitution and It's attached Bill of Rights trumps state, local and federal laws, then the answer is yes. However the State of Ohio and The United States Federal (central) Government does not agree. So that leaves the decision in your court. You be the man. You decide. By the way I am THE ALL AMERICAN!!
Why not think ethically for a moment? That should clear it up.
absolutely not !
Wait until they have those specials where if you turn it in you get a prize like maybe a Playstation or Xbox.
I believe they have 2 be 21, but I'd check with a gun shop 1st.
You have to be 21 to purchase a handgun. In some states there is a 3 day waiting period before you can actually get the gun. You need to be aware that if you purchased that gun, in your name, you could be held liable if your 19 year old friend went out and committed a crime, a drive by, or killed someone.
NO!! Don't sell it to him!! You can get in so much trouble if you do it wrong...call a gun shop and ask them the protocol. He is probably some gang member wanting to kill someone- don't do it...
I don't care the age, don't sell to anyone. Keeps your hands and mind free of guilt. I would use your own moral judgement on this one, and not what dough ray me, you can get by selling it to this 19 year old. Keep your mind free of guilt. Don't sell unless its someone you know very well that has no intentions of using it besides for target practice or because its a hobby of collecting them.
Q. What are the Gun Laws in Ohio?
From Charles Montaldo,
Your Guide to Crime / Punishment.
FREE Newsletter. Sign Up Now!
A. Child Access Prevention Law? No.
Juvenile Possession Law? No*.
Juvenile Sale/Transfer Law? Yes.
Rifles and Shotguns
Permit to purchase rifles and shotguns? No.
Registration of rifles and shotguns? No.
Licensing of owners of rifles and shotguns? No.
Permit to carry rifles and shotguns? No.
Permit to purchase handgun? No.*
Registration of handguns? No.*
Licensing of owners of handguns? No.*
Permit to carry handguns? No*
* Some municipalities control possession, sale or transfer of firearms. Controls include handgun registration, ID cards, waiting periods, permits to purchase, restrictions on handguns with barrel lengths less than 3 inches, prohibition on handguns weighing less than 19 ounces, costing less than $50 or $90 and able to melt at less than 800 degrees Farenheit.
Get Info On Gun Laws Find exactly what you want !
Browse a huge selection now. Find exactly what you want today.
Send this complimentary ringtone to your phone right now!
Also, prohibitions on firearms with obliterated markings and no use of any firearm by person less than 16 or 17 years of age.
Is there a State waiting period? No.
Is there a FBI *NICS check for firearm transactions? Yes.
Permit to carry a concealed weapon required? Not allowed.
Record of sale: Yes.
*NICS - National Instant Check System
Caution: This summary is meant for general purposes only. Firearm laws frequently change.
i would think that you both should have licenses. in some states you can't even talk to someone about guns if they do not have a license let alone sell one. you need to find out what your state requires. you do not want to get cute and think you can drive across state lines either. then you have federal probs.
No. He will need to be 21 to purchase the gun. As the owner if you sell him the weapon and he uses it to kill someone, even in self-defense, you will be criminally liable.
Yes you would break the Law, because the person has to be 21 years old and must have a CCW or at least a purchase permit to buy a handgun. Also if you do sell it to that person you would both have to go to the police station to get the gun register to a new owner.
If that person kill someone, and it's still register in your name you might go to prison. Check out you local firearm law!Requirements
At least 21 years of age
Resident of County if issue
Applicant must not have any disqualifiers which are listed in 2923.125(D)
-Criminal charges and convictions
-Fugitive from justice
-Adjudicated mentally incompetent
-Subject to a protection order
In order for an Ohio resident to apply for and obtain a concealed carry license, they must meet and follow the requirements listed below, as specified in ORC 2923.1235(A).
Applicant must have completed:
A. The required training within 3 years prior to the date of application...
Have obtained prior equivalent training through experience as a member of the United States military or designated law enforcement agency, and retired or been honorably discharged from above, within 6 years prior to the date of application.
The applicant must be:
A. At least 21 years of age.
B. An Ohio resident for 45 days and a resident of County of Application, or adjacent county, for 30 days.
Applicant must present at the time of application
A. Completed application
B. Color photo of applicant taken within 30 days
C. Valid identification
D. Certificate of competency or prior equivalent documentation
Applicant must attest to:
A. Applicant has received and read OPOTC pamphlet.
B. Hand gun shall be carried in a lawful manner.
Applicant must submit to:
A. Having fingerprints electronically scanned
Having fingerprints inked and rolled onto fingerprint card
Applicant must pass:
A background check to determine:
1. If applicant meets age requirements
2. If applicant meets resident requirements
3. If applicant has a criminal record, including expunged records (Federal, State, and Local)
4. If applicant has been adjudicated mentally incompetent
Applicant must pay at time of application:
A. Nonrefundable fee of $45.00 (cash or money order only)
No the liberals in their sheer hatred of the 2nd Amendment have succefully managed to attack this most important amendment enough to where you have to be 21 to own a handgun.
The Answers post by the user, for information only, FreeLawAnswer does not guarantee the right.
More Law Questions and Answers:
- Pot Feds? Have you heard that the FBI is now accepting former pot and hard drug users as candidates?
- Landmark Cases...?
- What would be your prediction for my punishment?
- What are the main problems and causes of personal debt in society?
- Just been granted power of attorney for my dad. Please read on?
- What ever happen to Ex-Atlanta police cheif Beverly J. Harvard?
- Is this counted as copyright?
- The tobacco ban an unacceptable madness?
- Can a dealership report a car stolen while im still driving?